Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 12 34 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35

Thread: Pre-Alpha release of Shh,Zombies [Now inc full release version]

  1. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnessy View Post
    Honestly i want more levels, Going to talk with you on Skype i think i have some stuff that might help you.

    As for the angle i do like it, although it does need more explanation as i put a path down on every square lol, also for the triggers and climables.
    Cool, cheers!
    You're the 4th person to do that with the placing of waypoints, so there will be something to show players what to do properly. Not decided exactly how yet. Maybe put in an artificial loading screen with instructions for placing waypoints on it, or have the first level with a glowing exit and perhaps a tool tip hovering by it saying click here.

    The triggers and climbable objects won't be done how they are currently. For the X, that's supposed to be a gun, so players will pick that up, and then use it where they want/ shooting where they want. And climbing won't be automatic, the player will have to tell it to climb where they want to.

    I just couldn't get that done for this release, and I'm really not sure how to do this - haven't given it in-depth thought though.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nickwalker12 View Post
    I'm loving the concept. It reminds me a little of Frozen Synapse hostage mode, where you have to path where you think you can escape and watch it play out. The pathing is the only thing that I have an issue with at this stage, as the game does not let you know if the stopping / turning around is intentional or not, but either way, I like it. As Johns says, definitely up for a chat if you want a hand with anything. Keep us updated, regardless!
    Shamefully, I didn't do any research to see if there was anything similar to this idea, so thanks for mentioning Frozen Synapse, will take a look.

    At each waypoint, the player (currently) stops, and then points in the rotation of the waypoint, this is unintentional. So, I know what it's doing, and why, just not sure how to fix it (haven't looked yet though). What should be happening, which I hope works how I imagine it to, is.. the player will reach the waypoint, stop, and rotate directly to face the direction of the next waypoint/ action, and then move/ perform the action straight away - basically just removing the additional step of always facing towards the top of the screen.

    Quote Originally Posted by P-3 View Post
    Looks very interesting,unfortunately I'm unable to go from one side to the other(I'm still using 4:3 monitors)in any screen mode
    Again, unfortunately, I dun goofed with this. Gave the screen size/ resolution/ mode absolutely zero thought until I was building it. The first build at 900x600 cut off the sides of the play area, probably similar to what you're seeing. Anyway, it was sort of a rush quick fx, hoping everyone that would be playing would fit it on screen.

    So, out of interest:
    - What resolution do you use?
    - Do you have FTL? As, by default, that plays in a window at about 1024x768 (ish)
    Enigma 23 Games
    <a href="http://www.indiedb.com/games/shhzombies" title="View Shh,Zombies on Indie DB" target="_blank"><img src="http://media.indiedb.com/images/global/indiedb.png" alt="Shh,Zombies" /></a>
    ( V )( ;,,; )( V ) || Speak/ Type English ! || T2G Customer Services: 0845 272 8796

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    419

    Default

    I really, really like the concept. This has a lot of potential I'm sure.

    P.s. I can't get passed level 3, that difficulty spike is way too sharp!

    Part-time Indie game dev, part-time procrastination expert.
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...s%20Ltd.&hl=en

  3. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by adam6785 View Post
    I really, really like the concept. This has a lot of potential I'm sure.
    Excellent, thank you. Here's hoping I get to a releasable point!

    P.s. I can't get passed level 3, that difficulty spike is way too sharp!
    That level is "broken", the intended solution doesn't work 100% of the time
    Enigma 23 Games
    <a href="http://www.indiedb.com/games/shhzombies" title="View Shh,Zombies on Indie DB" target="_blank"><img src="http://media.indiedb.com/images/global/indiedb.png" alt="Shh,Zombies" /></a>
    ( V )( ;,,; )( V ) || Speak/ Type English ! || T2G Customer Services: 0845 272 8796

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    419

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Carwash View Post
    That level is "broken", the intended solution doesn't work 100% of the time
    Oh, thank god for that! Thought I was a moron or just really **** at video games!

    Part-time Indie game dev, part-time procrastination expert.
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...s%20Ltd.&hl=en

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Co.Armagh N.I
    Posts
    145

    Default

    So, out of interest:
    - What resolution do you use?
    I'm running monitors on 1280x1024 resolution, bringing the resolution down just overspills onto the next screen with the same issues, as for higher I'm unable to go with the aspect ratio these provide. I do get a border at each end of the screen on the menu, but when the game starts I'm unable to see fullscreen....a good time to upgrade I think

  6. #16

    Default

    Just uploaded a new build:
    - Tweaked player movement, so now the player will look at the next waypoint without pointing to 0 on the Z axis first.
    - Added the ability to remove the last placed waypoint, using the middle mouse button.
    -- Will be right mouse button in final, but the webplayer already has a function for RMB.
    -- There's an issue if you put two waypoints at the same location, it can't remove either of them - not sure how to fix this.

    Quote Originally Posted by P-3 View Post
    I'm running monitors on 1280x1024 resolution, bringing the resolution down just overspills onto the next screen with the same issues, as for higher I'm unable to go with the aspect ratio these provide. I do get a border at each end of the screen on the menu, but when the game starts I'm unable to see fullscreen....a good time to upgrade I think
    That sounds like you're running dual monitors, so can't you just resize the browser window so it goes across both screens?
    Enigma 23 Games
    <a href="http://www.indiedb.com/games/shhzombies" title="View Shh,Zombies on Indie DB" target="_blank"><img src="http://media.indiedb.com/images/global/indiedb.png" alt="Shh,Zombies" /></a>
    ( V )( ;,,; )( V ) || Speak/ Type English ! || T2G Customer Services: 0845 272 8796

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Bear Cross, Bournemouth
    Posts
    205

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Carwash View Post
    -- There's an issue if you put two waypoints at the same location, it can't remove either of them - not sure how to fix this.
    Put in a check to see if a marker has already been placed at a location before accepting that location as a new way point.

    Err... only level one seems to be working now

    Looking forward to seeing new levels when you have some.


    T2G Customer Services: 0845 272 8796
    T2G Tutor Team: 0845 272 8799
    Student Signatures: http://forum.train2game.com/showthre...gnature-Images

  8. #18

    Default

    Should be fixed now (might have to ctrl+F5 to refresh with a clear cache).

    And I want to be able to place two waypoints on the same location - atm.
    Last edited by Carwash; 08-25-2013 at 07:39 PM.
    Enigma 23 Games
    <a href="http://www.indiedb.com/games/shhzombies" title="View Shh,Zombies on Indie DB" target="_blank"><img src="http://media.indiedb.com/images/global/indiedb.png" alt="Shh,Zombies" /></a>
    ( V )( ;,,; )( V ) || Speak/ Type English ! || T2G Customer Services: 0845 272 8796

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Bear Cross, Bournemouth
    Posts
    205

    Default

    Yeap, its working now

    Ok, two (or possibly more, for a really tricky level?) way points...

    Put in a check to see if a marker has already been placed at a location before accepting that location as a new way point. If false accept the new way point, if true...

    Pop open a window, perhaps..."Way point(s) already exists here. Please confirm you want another way point here?" with Yes No buttons, and move on from what the player inputs.

    edit..
    Just realized you are after removing one of two markers at a location, so..

    On the MMB click can you pop up a list of the way point numbers for that location with a radio button beside each one, with instructions to tick each way point to be removed?
    Last edited by Voltan; 08-25-2013 at 08:06 PM.


    T2G Customer Services: 0845 272 8796
    T2G Tutor Team: 0845 272 8799
    Student Signatures: http://forum.train2game.com/showthre...gnature-Images

  10. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Voltan View Post
    edit..
    Just realized you are after removing one of two markers at a location, so..

    On the MMB click can you pop up a list of the way point numbers for that location with a radio button beside each one, with instructions to tick each way point to be removed?
    It HAS to be the last waypoint placed that is removed. I'll explain further tomorrow if you need me to
    Enigma 23 Games
    <a href="http://www.indiedb.com/games/shhzombies" title="View Shh,Zombies on Indie DB" target="_blank"><img src="http://media.indiedb.com/images/global/indiedb.png" alt="Shh,Zombies" /></a>
    ( V )( ;,,; )( V ) || Speak/ Type English ! || T2G Customer Services: 0845 272 8796

Similar Threads

  1. SMA 2 - 10 prototype and alpha
    By M3RCH4N3RY in forum T2G, General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-14-2012, 01:23 PM
  2. BattleSpace Alpha
    By Karhma in forum T2G, General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-23-2012, 03:53 PM
  3. Battlefield 3 Alpha
    By Sleepless in forum T2G QA Tester Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-08-2011, 01:21 AM
  4. Black Ops-Zombies
    By lmccrack in forum T2G Students
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-13-2010, 06:37 PM
  5. alpha and pre alpha
    By hassanboss in forum T2G Designer, General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-21-2010, 10:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •