Page 1 of 4 1 234 LastLast

Thread: Monitor stuck on power saving mode

Default Monitor stuck on power saving mode

Hey guys,

I've just received my new computer (awesome) but my monitor seems to be stuck in power saving mode when I boot up the computer.

I've had a look inside the computer and everything seems to be working properly, and I've tried the power supply cables in the old computer and the monitor loads up as normal.

Do you think I need a higher voltage power supply cable going from the computer to the monitor?

Any advice would be great thanks.
    Visit me on LinkedIn! CLICK ME!
    Follow me on Twitter!CLICK ME!

Have you tried fiddling with the various options on the monitor itself?

Portfolio: A.R.H. Web and Games Design

LinkedIn:

"Dammit Jim! I'm a Designer not a Programmer!"

I had a similar problem when I got my new computer, it turns out I had plugged my VGA cable into the wrong port (as there were 2 ports one for the inbuilt graphics and one for the graphics card) check to see if your computer has 2 VGA port and try them both (if you use VGA that is). I did have a major facepalm mark on my face for days when I realized! Its a common thing to do, believe me!
    Last edited by Thunderball; 11-28-2011 at 03:55 PM.

Feel free to send me a friend request just make sure to message me you're from Train2Game!
    GamerTag: PKTHUND3RBALL Skype: thunderball.1991 Steam: GameDevThunderball Tumblr: http://gamedevthunderball.tumblr.com/ Twitter: @GameDevThunder Youtube: Thunderball/

Quote Originally Posted by Calibur View Post
    Hey guys,

I've just received my new computer (awesome) but my monitor seems to be stuck in power saving mode when I boot up the computer.

I've had a look inside the computer and everything seems to be working properly, and I've tried the power supply cables in the old computer and the monitor loads up as normal.

Do you think I need a higher voltage power supply cable going from the computer to the monitor?