PDA

View Full Version : Autodesk updates



CheekyChace
02-06-2011, 09:03 PM
Quick question, I have 3ds Max 2010, and I have noticed that 2011 has the new Iray mental-ray, are we able to update our software with 2011 features? or are we just unlucky we started the course in 2010?????

modeller x tron
02-06-2011, 09:11 PM
3ds max 2011 came out in april 2010 so why are you using 2010 when that came out in 2009 lol. i hope i get 2011 due to using 2011 already

CheekyChace
02-06-2011, 10:03 PM
I'm using 2010 because thats what they sent me, why send me an out of date suite at the end of 2010??? now I'm pissed off if what you say is true.
Would you pay 5000 for out of date software????

modeller x tron
02-06-2011, 10:14 PM
i would'nt pay 5k for 3ds max even if it was 2012 lol its only 1.5 -2k. i see your point tho but maybe you can ring them up and get them to give you an update license.

yaustar
02-07-2011, 12:47 AM
I'm using 2010 because thats what they sent me, why send me an out of date suite at the end of 2010??? now I'm pissed off if what you say is true.
Would you pay 5000 for out of date software????
Because it takes to make a transition to newer software. Videos, tutors, study material, contracts for licenses etc all need to be updated before a transition to the latest can be done.

I was working with Visual Studio 2005 in 2010. We updated our toolset to be compiled with 2008 and lost a lot of man days because when the development team updated the tools, they crashed as they didn't have certain runtimes installed and it took us a while to work out which actual runtimes and hotfixes were actually needed.

CheekyChace
02-07-2011, 05:23 PM
so when/if they update do we also get a product update?

yaustar
02-07-2011, 06:03 PM
so when/if they update do we also get a product update?
I suspect so as it makes no sense to support 2 versions of the same software but you will have to ask T2G for the final word.