PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a Laptop as my partner is giving me ear ache

CheekyChace
11-10-2010, 04:53 PM
Looking for a Laptop as my partner is giving me ear ache about the desk top being in the living room.

OK, I need a laptop to run and not crash on all the Animation software.
I was looking at the Apple Mac Pro? what do you think or do you think another brand would be best?
money is not a problem because I ain't paying for it :) whoop

PS I'm an artist not an IT tech, so small words in English would be great lol :) :) :)

bhmediamarty
11-10-2010, 05:17 PM
Although I'd agree with points 1, 2 and 4, point 3 isn't necessarily true as a friend of mine has a mac that runs a lot of windows apps a lot faster than my PC.

However, indeed, the Autodesk suite is primarily PC and although you can run it in windows or parallels, you're paying extra for a mac platform to run non mac software so it is a bit of a wasted effort.

Other than that, MattB's other recommendations are pretty sound. If you find a decent sounding laptop, do a google search for reviews on it as quite often you can find a lot of fairly helpful reviews that also list comparable systems to the one you'd found.

Vampire Duck
11-10-2010, 06:48 PM
Although I did read a great quote saying that owning a Mac is the best way to allow a wesstern white adult middle class male to act like a persecuted minority, so it's not all bad.

CheekyChace
11-10-2010, 07:24 PM
thanks for the replies I have been looking at all the other threads about laptop specs but I'm confused on this ((((((an actual separate graphics chipset (not 'on-board')))))) OK is this like an external hard drive you plug it in and it works???

bhmediamarty
11-10-2010, 07:42 PM
thanks for the replies I have been looking at all the other threads about laptop specs but I'm confused on this ((((((an actual separate graphics chipset (not 'on-board')))))) OK is this like an external hard drive you plug it in and it works???